top of page
Search
  • Karla Quintanilla

The Author Journey [Milestones Timeline]

I wanted to share a series of posts to trace the path of my book publication. If you follow any of my social media, you will see that I began giving updates on my book from very early on in the process. I am so happy that I documented many of my milestones because I was able to look back at my progress and see how long each phase of my book took to complete. The following posts will give you a general idea of how my journey went.


August 12th, 2020
The Big Announcement"

Caption: Honoring the 1 year anniversary of my Disney College Program arrival, I am happy to announce this exciting project! 📚

If you’ve work closely with me this past year, you would know that I am very passionate about working for the Walt Disney Company in the future because I believe the company values are an excellent moral compass that also drive brand success. Thus, the idea of writing about the Cast Member experience and mentality was born.


During quarantine, I began to work on this book with the working title of "𝕀𝕞𝕒𝕘𝕚𝕟𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟 𝕄𝕚𝕟𝕕" with a goal of publishing next spring. I've got an amazing community of fellow authors and writers to write with and supporting me through the journey. I've already sent my editor my first content for feedback (which is exciting and makes this all very real!)


The GOAL of the book is to explore the values that fuel Cast Members in their daily operations, the creation of magic, and the pursuit of providing world class service for people of all ages. I will be sharing testimonies of others along with lessons from my own experience.


Over the next few months, I'll be sharing key pieces of the journey with you -- things I'm learning, conversations I'm having, writing and book milestones, and sharing pieces and stories from the book.


One of the most rewarding parts of the experience so far is talking to so many interesting people for and about the book. A HUGE thanks to all of the Cast Members that invested time to talk to me. I could NOT have done it without you.


 
December 17th, 2020
"Launching The Website"

💻⭐️WEBSITE IS NOW LIVE! ⭐️⭐️

Ft. My book Imagination Mindset and a little bit more about my journey through this crazy year.



 
January 11, 2021
"First Draft Submission"

Caption: 𝑰 𝒔𝒖𝒃𝒎𝒊𝒕𝒕𝒆𝒅 𝒎𝒚 𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒖𝒔𝒄𝒓𝒊𝒑𝒕 𝒕𝒐 𝒎𝒚 𝒆𝒅𝒊𝒕𝒐𝒓!

30k words later...

Writing a book was never in my comfort zone as I have always been much more of an experiential learner than a scholarly writer, but it’s the challenge of doing something I never imagined that made my 2020 worthwhile.


When I sat down to begin writing, it all started by a mouse (a computer mouse), but as time went by and I interviewed and researched people, I discovered so much about the Disney culture.

My personal goal is to become an expert in my topic through writing my book. It’s all about having that growth mindset and achieving the milestones that you set yourself.


In the next 6 months, I will write, re-write, record, and launch new endeavors on this piece of writing, Imagination Mindset.


A huge thank you to every cast member that granted me their time, my editors, Lyn and professor Koester.

 
April 2 , 2021
"The Book Campaign"

Caption: MY DREAM HAS COME TRUE! [Los sueños si se pueden hacer realidad.] I never thought I would become a published author at age 22. My book Imagination Mindset is now available for pre-order.

After completing my Disney College Program in spring 2020, I was eager to share what I experienced behind the stage and what work habits and skills I took with me that have helped me in my career endeavors. This book has turned into so much more than just my perspective. You'll get to hear Cast Members from different roles and locations talk about what it means to make magic through their lens.

Here are some of the exciting details for the book campaign: Opportunities for you to become a beta reader

The magical promo video A planned Mickey giveaway (details to come!) And, of course, the presale itself!

CLICK THE LINK to access the presale. Aqui está el sitio web para ordenar mi libro.

 
June 14 , 2021
"Copy Editing"

Caption:📖Book Update: 2 weeks away from submitting my manuscript to my copy editors!!


Tomorrow I am meeting with the design team to brainstorm on my book cover.


These last two weeks will require a lot of effort and focus. 🧐


To think this all started from the Disney College Program when I experienced the valuable mindset that Disney employees possess. 🤩



 
July 29 , 2021
"Book Layout"

Caption: Book layout ✅ 𝕀𝕞𝕒𝕘𝕚𝕟𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟 𝕄𝕚𝕟𝕕𝕤𝕖𝕥 came out to be a total of 180 pages.


This is final opportunity to approve the format of the book. Time to take my red pen out! 🖍


Only one month away from press!! 📕








 
August 6 , 2021
"Cover Reveal"

𝙏𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙞𝙨 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙛𝙞𝙣𝙖𝙡 𝙡𝙤𝙤𝙠!! 𝙏𝙝𝙚 𝙄𝙢𝙖𝙜𝙞𝙣𝙖𝙩𝙞𝙤𝙣 𝙈𝙞𝙣𝙙𝙨𝙚𝙩 𝙛𝙧𝙤𝙣𝙩 𝙗𝙤𝙤𝙠 𝙘𝙤𝙫𝙚𝙧.


🙏A big thank you to my design team at New Degree Press and my author community for helping this vision come to life.🙏


📔Picking apart this cover you can identify a few symbols and inspiration.


🚪The frame of Casting Agency door located on Main Street U.S.A. The casting agency door is a frequent stop for Disney Cast Members to remember why they love their jobs, and for future CM's to hope and dream about the day they work for the Mouse


📌The Cast Member Nametag! an honorary part of every cast member's costume that demonstrates that they are representing the magic.


🔵The Disney Store blue --this is a beautiful navy blue shade that goes well with the gold accents. It reminds me of the blue used at the Disney store and also once used to represent the Disney internship and program's logo.


✨& of course, lots of Pixie Dust to represent the magic that anyone can manifest in their own jobs/lives.


 
August 23 , 2021
"Publishing Day"


“C’mon Jeffrey you can do it!” We did it, friends! The book is officially published.


You can get the Kindle e-book for only $0.99 for a limited time. LINK IN BIO


📚NOTE ON PAPERBACK

Paperbacks take a bit more time (24-72 hours) to go live up on the Amazon site. The paperback will retail for $16.99.


Imagination Mindset will also be available through Barnes & Noble and other retailers online and in stores in the near future. My goal is to hold an in-person book signing event. Fingers crossed! 🤞🏼


 
August 26 , 2021
"Ranking Number ONE on Amazon"

🥇Imagination Mindset BIG UPDATE | We are ranking #1 New Release on Amazon!


Paperback is also available now for purchase! 📚


WOW. I an beyond grateful for this opportunity. Thank you so so much to everyone that has supported by purchasing on Amazon!



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page